first impressions

This is me.  
I think it’s apparent that I need to rethink my life a little bit.  
I can’t help myself.  I like good food!!!

This seemed to be the theme of the day today, as all our chef instructors introduced themselves and their reasons for getting involved in the culinary field, and then we all got to explain why we enrolled. It also happens to be from Ratatouille, which got a lot of screen time at the orientation:

My own explanation involved how I lived in France and then couldn’t find any jobs except baking when I got back from France, but I think it came off as too simplistic and everyone stopped listening after I said the word France. 

The chef instructor said my story was inspiring, which he hopefully meant, but now I’m worried I came across as one of those girls who things they know everything because they know how to pronounce croissant (and now that I’m trying it, I’m not even sure of that,) and because they’ve ordered one in France.

I’m not that kind of girl!!!!

But explaining how I only worked 12 hours a week to start with and how the French teachers kept changing class without telling me because they didn’t really want me around to watch them butcher *ahem* teach English so I didn’t really work at all, and fell into frequenting pastry shops and baking good stores just to fill the time and give some small purpose to my life just seems overkill for a 5 second intro. And to say that I bake because I seem to have a knack for it, and that while many people wonder how I can bake certain things so well, I wonder how anyone manages to f– up baking that badly… well, that is somehow even more condescending and snooty.  
 

So girl-who-lived-in-France who wears a scarf I will be. Rah rah rah.

My class is pretty large, I’d say 14-15 people but I didn’t bother to count.  They all seem pretty nice and interesting, a good range of ages and backgrounds. 2 guys. At least one of them’s gay.  Apparently not a lot of guys are just dying to be pastry chefs.

Got shown around the kitchen, am itching to get started on schmancy molded deserts, or with anything actually.  It’s more going over the syllabus etc etc until this Friday, when we are making baguettes.  

Baguettes… hon hon hon! hon hon hon hon hon!!!

At some point I will actually post recipes and photos of my creations but at this point I”ll fall back on old youtube stables.

Jacques Costeau! Baguette!

One response to “first impressions

  1. Huzzah! You’ve done it.

    But how many of your classmates make Yule Logs to sell to her coworkers? Eh?

    If you need me… call you see…I can be Bret, “He’s very popular.”

Leave a comment